2016 PDC European Tour – A Few Qualifying Stats

The 2016 PDC European Tour starts on Friday with the Dutch Darts Masters the first event on the calendar.

European Tour events are always enjoyable to watch due to the quality on display, added to the fact there are many of the World’s best players mixed with qualifiers all keen to earn valuable ranking prize money.

There are 48 players in each tournament. 16 seeded players from the PDC Pro Tour Order of Merit ranking system. The remaining 32 players have come through qualifying events held in the UK, Europe and the host nation.

The tournament is seeded so the top 16 are kept apart in the Last 32 and each meet the winner of a First Round match between two qualifiers.

Here are some stats on how qualifiers have fared in the Euro Tour events since they started in 2012 (there have been a total of 30 Euro Tour tournaments).

Overall 60 of the 240 quarter-finalists in Euro Tour history have been qualifiers.

  • 4 tournament winners won the tournament having had to come through the qualifiers (Part, van der Voort, Wade and Michael Smith).
  • 5 tournament runners-up reached the final having had to come through the qualifiers (White, Kellett, Jamie Lewis, Pipe and Henderson).
  • 15 losing semi-finalists reached the last 4 having had to come through the qualifiers.
  • 36 losing quarter-finalists reached the last 8 having had to come through the qualifiers.

Interestingly enough all of the 9 European Tour events in 2015 were won by players who had to participate in qualifying for the first ever Euro Tour event in 2012. These players were Michael van Gerwen, Michael Smith, Kim Huybrechts and Robert Thornton.

Lastly here is the draw for this weekend’s Dutch Darts Masters

Michael van Gerwen (1) v Dimitri Van den Bergh/John Henderson

Justin Pipe (16) v Andree Welge/Jamie Lewis

Dave Chisnall (8) v Kevin Thomas/Jan Dekker

Robert Thornton (9) v Ritchie Edhouse/Martin Schindler

Kim Huybrechts (5) v Ricky Evans/Devon Petersen

Gary Anderson (12) v Mervyn King/Ronnie Baxter

James Wade (4) v Ryan Harrington/David Pallett

Benito van de Pas (13) v Mark Webster/Jermaine Wattimena

Michael Smith (2) v Dirk van Duijvenbode/Gerwyn Price

Mensur Suljovic (15) v Robbie Green/Rowby-John Rodriguez

Ian White (7) v Mike De Decker/Simon Whitlock

Jelle Klaasen (10) v Kevin Painter/Jamie Caven

Adrian Lewis (6) v Paul Milford/Remco van Eijden

Terry Jenkins (11) v Zoran Lerchbacher/James Richardson

Peter Wright (3) v John Michael/Stephen Bunting

Brendan Dolan (14) v Jyhan Artut/Daryl Gurney

*Thornton withdrew due to illness.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: